Hydrolyzed chicken collagen type 2 is chicken sternum cartilage collagen that has been broken down into water-soluble peptides, and it is not interchangeable with the undenatured form of the same raw material. The difference decides the dose, the assay and what may be stated on a label.
Both grades are sold under near-identical product names, and both are described as type II collagen. They are separated by three numbers: molecular weight, collagen content and dose.
What hydrolyzed chicken collagen type 2 is
Type II collagen is the collagen that predominates in cartilage, and the commercial source for it is chicken sternum cartilage rather than the hide and bone that supply most other collagen ingredients. Given the question "what is hydrolyzed chicken collagen type 2", the useful answer is that hydrolysis converts that cartilage into short peptides, and the specification follows from the conversion.
-
How chicken collagen type 2 is defined officially
The Australian Therapeutic Goods Administration publishes a compositional guideline for chicken sternum cartilage powder that fixes the chicken collagen definition. Under it, chicken collagen is cartilage from sanitised chicken sternums, ground and then dehydrated in a two-step process that uses potassium chloride, dried at a temperature that eliminates pathogens, and milled and sieved. It must be non-genetically modified and taken from chickens fit for human consumption. The guideline records the CAS number of the active constituent as 9007-34-5.
-
Why one starting material yields two grades
That definition describes the raw material, not the finished grade. The same starting cartilage can be supplied with its triple-helix structure intact or hydrolyzed into peptides, and the two are priced, dosed, and labeled differently. Our own chicken collagen type 2 powder product page lists both grades side by side for that reason.

Native versus hydrolyzed: the two grades do not interchange
The two grades are not two purities of one product; they are two different materials, and a formulation cannot be switched from one to the other without changing the label and the dose.
-
Why a hydrolyzed chicken collagen type 2 lot cannot be released as undenatured
Hydrolysis splits the collagen triple helix into peptides. The analytical consequence is decisive: undenatured chicken collagen type 2 is quantified by an enzyme-linked immunosorbent assay that depends on the intact protein, so once the chicken collagen has been hydrolyzed that assay has nothing to measure. A hydrolyzed lot cannot be released, declared or defended as undenatured chicken collagen type 2, whatever the starting cartilage was.
-
The two grades side by side
| Parameter | Native (undenatured) grade | Hydrolyzed peptide grade | What it changes at purchase |
| Structure | Triple helix retained | Cleaved into short peptides | Determines which assay can be used for release |
| Molecular weight | Intact protein | 2,000 to 5,000 Da, as listed on our product page | Sets solubility and the formats that will work |
| Protein content | 35% to 60%, as listed on our product page | 60% to 90%, as listed on our product page | Protein is not collagen; see the next section |
| Usage level | 40 mg per day, for capsules and tablets | 500 to 2,000 mg, per our product page | Changes capsule count, cost per dose and bulk volume |
| Release assay for identity | ELISA for undenatured chicken collagen type 2 | Hydroxyproline-based collagen determination | The two claims cannot be swapped in a specification |
-
The dose gap between the two grades
The dose gap is the part that surprises buyers. The native grade works at 40 mg per day and the hydrolyzed grade at 500 to 2,000 mg, so a formulation team that substitutes one for the other on a milligram-per-milligram basis will be out by roughly one to two orders of magnitude in either direction.
The dose basis: material weight is not collagen weight
A specification that states only the chicken collagen weight does not describe the collagen in the finished product, and the official limits show why.
-
The two assay floors that set the range for chicken collagen
The TGA guideline sets two assay floors for chicken sternum cartilage powder: total collagen, determined by high-performance liquid chromatography with ultraviolet or fluorescence detection, at not less than 25.0%, and undenatured chicken collagen type 2, determined by ELISA, at not less than 3.0%. Read those two numbers together with a 40 mg usage level and the consequence is plain. A compliant lot can contain as little as 3.0% undenatured chicken collagen type 2, which is about 1.2 mg in a 40 mg dose of material.
-
What a compliant lot can actually contain
The same gap opens in the other direction. A lot measured at the higher end of the range delivers several times that quantity from the same 40 mg. Two suppliers can both quote a fully compliant material and ship products that differ by several fold in the analyte the formulation was built around.
-
Regulatory floors are not trade specifications
The distinction matters commercially as much as analytically. Those values are regulatory floors for a defined ingredient, not a description of what the trade normally circulates, and the specification that governs an order is agreed separately. Write a purchase specification as a copy of the floor and the door opens to material far below the customary grade; write it above the floor without agreeing it first and the quotation stops being comparable. Our own chicken collagen type 2 listing states the values we declare on each grade, and the specification for a given order is confirmed before it is quoted.
-
The limits in the official guideline
| Parameter | Limit in the TGA compositional guideline | Method named in the guideline | Why a buyer should hold this line |
| Total collagen | Not less than 25.0% | HPLC, ultraviolet or fluorescence detection | This is the figure the label dose should be built on |
| Undenatured type II collagen | Not less than 3.0% | ELISA | The floor is low; a compliant lot can vary several fold |
| Hydroxyproline to collagen conversion | Hydroxyproline is about 12.6% of collagen by mass; total collagen (mg/g) equals hydroxyproline (mg/g) multiplied by 8 | Calculation from the hydroxyproline result | Lets a buyer convert whichever figure the supplier reports |
| Loss on drying | Not more than 10% | Not specified in the guideline | Moisture dilutes every other figure on the certificate |
| Arsenic | Not more than 1.5 ppm | Not specified in the guideline | Elemental impurities differ from plant extracts; blanks are not tolerable |
| Cadmium, lead and mercury | Not more than 0.5 ppm each | Not specified in the guideline | A single heavy-metal figure is not a heavy-metal specification |
| Particle size | 100 mesh pass rate not less than 60% by weight | Sieving | Drives blend uniformity and capsule fill weight |
| Identification | Infrared fingerprint must match the reference spectrum | FT-IR | Allows a species and material check on receipt |
| Antibiotic residues | Must comply with the maximum residue limits for chicken meat in the Australia New Zealand Food Standards Code, Standard 1.4.2, Schedule 20 | LC with tandem mass spectrometry | A poultry-derived ingredient carries a residue question that plant extracts do not |
-
Protein content is not collagen content
Protein content is a separate measurement again, and it is the one most often mistaken for collagen content. Total protein is normally determined by nitrogen analysis, while total collagen is determined by HPLC. A certificate that reports protein at 35% has said nothing about how much collagen the lot contains, and a specification written around a protein figure will not constrain the analyte the formula depends on.
How the numbers are generated
Three test methods carry the specification, and asking which of them produced a figure on a certificate resolves most disagreements before they reach a purchase order.
-
Measuring total collagen in chicken collagen
Total collagen is reported either directly by HPLC or by calculation from hydroxyproline, which the TGA guideline puts at about 12.6% of collagen by mass, giving the conversion of hydroxyproline in mg/g multiplied by 8. Undenatured type II collagen is reported by ELISA, and that result is the one that separates the two grades, because a hydrolyzed material cannot return a meaningful value. Identification is by infrared fingerprint against a reference spectrum, which is a fast check on receipt and a useful screen for a substitution.
-
Identity and microbiology
Microbiology rounds out the release panel in the same guideline. Total aerobic microbial count is capped at 3,000 colony-forming units per gram, enterobacteriaceae at 10 most probable number per gram, and molds and yeasts at 100 colony-forming units per gram. Escherichia coli, Salmonella, Staphylococcus aureus, Pseudomonas aeruginosa and staphylococcal enterotoxin are all required to be absent, with Listeria recorded as negative and Bacillus cereus capped at 100 colony-forming units per gram.
-
The mineral fraction that moves fill weight
Two numbers in the guideline are worth flagging because they are not assay values. Potassium runs from 14.2% to 19.4% and chloride from 10% to 25%, a direct consequence of the potassium chloride step in the dehydration process. A buyer moving between suppliers of the same ingredient can see the mineral fraction shift, and that shift shows up in the fill weight rather than in the collagen assay.
Chicken collagen type 2 benefits: what may be stated, and where
Chicken collagen type 2 benefits cannot be presented the same way in every market, and in the European Union they cannot be presented in relation to the collagen itself at all. The commercial case for the chicken collagen therefore has to be built on formulation and specification, and the claim position has to be settled market by market before the artwork is written.
-
The United States: four conditions on a chicken collagen claim
In the United States, a dietary supplement label may carry a structure or function statement, and 21 CFR 101.93 sets four conditions that attach to it. The manufacturer, packer or distributor must notify the FDA's Office of Dietary Supplement Programs within 30 days of first marketing the product. The label must carry the prescribed disclaimer, wording it as follows: this statement has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration, and the product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease. The disclaimer has to sit adjacent to the statement, or be linked to it by a symbol, and it must appear on every panel or page where the statement appears.
What the notification must contain
The notification has a defined content list, and the signed statement inside it is the part that carries weight. It goes to the Office of Dietary Supplement Programs at the Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition as an original and two copies, and it must state the firm's name and address, the text of the statement, the dietary ingredient the statement concerns, and the product name including brand.
Who signs it, and how the disclaimer must be set
A responsible individual signs the notification and certifies that the information is complete and accurate, and that the firm holds substantiation that the statement is truthful and not misleading. A label carrying more than one statement may use the plural disclaimer instead of repeating the singular text, and a disclaimer that cannot sit adjacent to its statement has to be set off in a box.
Type size and placement
It has to be set in boldface at a type size no smaller than one sixteenth of an inch. A statement that crosses into a disease claim moves the product into drug regulation instead.
Where a statement becomes a disease claim
What counts as a disease claim is set out in the same section. The definition covers damage to an organ, structure or system such that it does not function properly, or a health state that leads to that, with conditions caused by essential nutrient deficiencies such as scurvy or pellagra excluded from the definition. The section then lists ten criteria, and several of them catch material that reads as ordinary marketing. A statement claims to treat or prevent disease if it attributes an effect on a specific disease or class of diseases, on the characteristic signs or symptoms of one, or on an abnormal and uncommon condition.
The criteria that catch ordinary marketing
It also does so if the disease association is carried by the product name, by the formulation description, by a cited publication that refers to a disease use, by the word disease itself, or by pictures, vignettes or symbols.
-
The European Union: no collagen claim is authorized
In the European Union the position is narrower and simpler. Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006 prohibits health claims made on foods unless the Commission has authorised them and included them in the list of permitted claims, and it requires a public register holding both the authorised claims and the claims that have been rejected. The authorised list sits in Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012, and it contains no claim for collagen. The nearest claim that exists is for vitamin C, worded as a contribution to normal collagen formation for the normal function of blood vessels, bones, cartilage, gums, skin or teeth.
The condition attached to the vitamin C claim
That claim carries a condition: it may be used only for a food that is at least a source of vitamin C. A collagen product can therefore carry a collagen-related statement in Europe only by adding vitamin C to the formula and qualifying as a source of it.
-
The claim position by market
| Market | What a finished product may state | Regulatory basis | Priority for this ingredient |
| United States | Structure or function statements are available, subject to the 30-day notification, the prescribed disclaimer, its placement and its type size; a disease claim makes the product a drug | 21 CFR 101.93 | Primary |
| European Union | No authorised claim exists for collagen; the only adjacent route is the vitamin C claim, conditional on the food being at least a source of vitamin C | Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006; Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012 | Primary, with formula changes |
| Japan | Function claims are available through the Foods with Function Claims route, which the operator files before sale and supports on its own responsibility | Consumer Affairs Agency, Foods with Function Claims | Secondary |
| Other markets | Not addressed here; each requires its own review before artwork is written | Outside the scope of this article | Review per destination |
-
What a supplier can state on its own account
The claims a supplier can make on its own account are narrower still, and they are all about the chicken collagen rather than the person taking it. A collagen content measured and declared on a stated basis is a supplier statement. A named test method is a supplier statement. A particle size, a loss on drying limit and an elemental impurity panel are supplier statements. How much of the chicken collagen delivers the analyte the formula was designed around is the question a specification answers, and it is the question most often left open.
Chicken collagen type 2 uses: dosage forms and formulation limits
The hydrolyzed grade is the one that fits formats where the chicken collagen has to dissolve, and the native grade is the one that fits a small solid dose. Our product page lists the hydrolyzed peptide grade for capsules, powder mixes, beverages, gummies and sports nutrition, and the native grade for low-dose capsules and tablets.
-
The two specification lines that decide whether a format works
Two specification lines decide whether a format works in practice, and both are measurable before a trial batch. The first is particle size, which the TGA guideline caps only from below, at a 100 mesh pass rate of not less than 60% by weight. A coarser fraction blends less evenly and shifts capsule fill weight. The second is loss on drying, capped at not more than 10%, which matters most in a hygroscopic blend where the chicken collagen is a minority component.
-
The potassium and chloride the chicken collagen brings
The mineral fraction is a third constraint that is easy to miss. The guideline records potassium at 14.2% to 19.4% and chloride at 10% to 25%, both arising from the potassium chloride step in the dehydration process. In a product that declares potassium, or in a formulation where the total sodium and salt contribution is being managed, that fraction is part of the recipe rather than a footnote, and it moves when the supplier changes.

Chicken collagen and the side effects question: allergen labeling
Chicken is not a regulated food allergen in either the United States or the European Union, so the labeling question around this ingredient is about accurate description rather than a mandatory allergen warning. That is the whole of the regulatory answer, and it is worth stating plainly because the search term around it is common.
-
Whether chicken collagen is a regulated allergen
The FDA lists nine major food allergens: milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans and sesame, with sesame added by the FASTER Act for labels on or after 1 January 2023. Poultry is not on that list, and the FDA also notes that the relevant labeling statute does not cover meat, poultry and egg products, which fall under a different agency. Annex II of Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 lists fourteen entries, covering cereals containing gluten, crustaceans, eggs, fish, peanuts, soybeans, milk, nuts, celery, mustard, sesame seeds, sulphur dioxide and sulphites above 10 mg/kg, lupin and molluscs. There is no poultry entry.
-
What the annex's fish gelatin exclusions show
The annex does carve out specific cases, and one of them is instructive. Its exclusions for fish gelatine, where the gelatine is used as a carrier for vitamin or carotenoid preparations or as a fining agent, show that the legislator dealt with gelatine materials deliberately. No equivalent treatment exists for poultry-derived collagen, which is consistent with poultry not being a listed allergen at all.
-
What still has to be right on the label
What still has to be right is the description. The material is poultry-derived, the label should say so, and a buyer's allergen questionnaire should be answered with a species origin statement rather than a blanket exclusion. Where a destination market's requirements ask specifically about bovine material, the species statement is the document that answers it. Beyond composition and labeling, safety and efficacy for a finished product belong to the party placing it on the market, and that assessment is theirs to make and to document.
-
What a supplier can and cannot provide
For a buyer, the practical output of this section is a short document list rather than a warning. A species origin statement naming the poultry source and the tissue, an allergen declaration written against the entries the destination market actually lists, and a statement of what the material is not, together answer the allergen section of a customer questionnaire. The finished product's safety conclusion is not a supplier document; it belongs to the party placing that product on the market, assessed against their own dossier and the rules of each destination.
What to put on the specification
Twelve lines turn a quotation into something a buyer can compare, and every one of them comes from the official compositional guideline rather than from a supplier's summary of it.
-
The twelve lines to write
| Specification line | What to write | Why it belongs on the purchase order |
| Grade and form | Native or hydrolyzed peptide, stated explicitly | Sets the assay, the dose and the allowable claims |
| Total collagen | Percentage, on a stated basis, with the method named | This is the analyte the label dose should be based on |
| Undenatured type II collagen | ELISA result, with the method named | Cannot be claimed for a hydrolyzed lot at all |
| Hydroxyproline | Result in mg/g, with the conversion factor used | Lets two certificates be compared on one scale |
| Loss on drying | Limit, not more than 10% in the official guideline | Moisture dilutes every other figure on the sheet |
| Elemental impurities | Arsenic, cadmium, lead and mercury, each with its own limit | A single heavy-metal line is not a heavy-metal specification |
| Microbiology | The full panel, separating count limits from absence tests | Absence tests mirror the buyer's own release testing |
| Antibiotic residues | Method, and the maximum residue limits the lot was tested against | A poultry-derived ingredient carries a residue question |
| Identification | Infrared fingerprint against a reference spectrum | Fast receipt check and a screen for substitution |
| Particle size | Mesh pass rate by weight, 100 mesh not less than 60% in the guideline | Drives blend uniformity and capsule fill weight |
| Species origin statement | Source species named, with the tissue identified | Answers label and destination-market documentation questions |
| Packaging and shelf life | Container format and stated shelf life, at a stated storage condition | A shelf life claim is only as good as the barrier around it |
What determines the price of a collagen powder
The price of a collagen powder tracks the specification rather than the word collagen on the label, which is why two quotations for the same ingredient can differ without either supplier being wrong.
-
The four lines that move the price of chicken collagen
Four lines move the number most. The first is the basis on which content is declared, because a material quoted on total collagen is not the same article as one quoted on ingredient weight. The second is the undenatured type II collagen result, given that the official floor is 3.0% and the ceiling in commercial material sits many times higher, which changes how much material a dose requires. The third is the testing scope: four elemental impurities, a microbiology panel with several absence tests, and antibiotic residue testing against maximum residue limits all carry analytical cost that is reflected in the tonne price. The fourth is physical consistency, since a tighter particle size specification costs yield.
-
Documentation as a price driver
Documentation is the fifth driver and the one most often left out of a comparison. A supplier that issues a certificate with the method named for each result, plus a species origin statement, an allergen declaration and a genetically modified organism statement where the destination requires them, is a different proposition from one that issues an assay figure alone.
-
How destination markets change the paperwork
Destination markets differ in what they demand, and Japan is a useful example: finished products that carry a function claim go through the Foods with Function Claims notification route, filed by the operator before sale with the operator bearing responsibility for the scientific basis, which means the paperwork a buyer needs from upstream can be heavier there than the chicken collagen specification alone suggests.
Frequently asked questions
Q: What Is Hydrolyzed Chicken Collagen Type 2?
A: Hydrolyzed chicken collagen type 2 is type II collagen from chicken sternum cartilage that has been cleaved into short water-soluble peptides. The starting tissue is cartilage rather than hide or bone, which is what makes it type II, and the hydrolysis step is what makes it a peptide ingredient rather than an intact protein. Our product page lists the peptide fraction at 2,000 to 5,000 Da.
Q: Is Hydrolyzed Chicken Collagen Type 2 The Same As Undenatured Type II Collagen?
A: No. Hydrolysis breaks the triple helix, so the chicken collagen can no longer be measured by the ELISA used for undenatured type II collagen and cannot be declared as undenatured. The two are also dosed on different bases, at 40 mg per day for the native grade against 500 to 2,000 mg for the hydrolyzed grade as listed on our product page.
Q: Does 40 Mg Of Chicken Collagen Type 2 Provide 40 Mg Of Collagen?
A: No, and this is the most common specification error on the chicken collagen. The figure describes the weight of the chicken collagen, not the weight of collagen inside it. The TGA compositional guideline sets total collagen at not less than 25.0% and undenatured type II collagen at not less than 3.0%, so a fully compliant 40 mg dose can carry as little as about 1.2 mg of undenatured type II collagen.
Q: How Is Collagen Content Measured In Chicken Collagen Type 2?
A: Total collagen is measured by HPLC with ultraviolet or fluorescence detection, or calculated from hydroxyproline. The TGA guideline puts hydroxyproline at about 12.6% of collagen by mass, giving a conversion of hydroxyproline in mg/g multiplied by eight. Undenatured type II collagen is measured by ELISA, and identity is confirmed by an infrared fingerprint against a reference spectrum.
Q: Can A Finished Product Claim Skin Or Joint Benefits From Chicken Collagen Type 2?
A: That depends on the market, and in the European Union the answer for collagen itself is no. Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006 prohibits health claims that are not authorised and listed, and the authorised list in Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012 contains no collagen claim. The only adjacent route is the vitamin C claim, which requires the food to be at least a source of vitamin C.
Q: Is Chicken Collagen An Allergen That Has To Be Declared?
A: Chicken is not a regulated food allergen in the United States or the European Union. The FDA lists nine major food allergens and poultry is not among them, and Annex II of Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 lists fourteen entries with no poultry entry. Accurate description of the source species on the label is still required, and poultry-derived material should be covered by a species origin statement.
Next step: write the basis before the price
A chicken collagen type 2 purchase goes wrong at the specification stage far more often than at delivery, and the two lines that cause it are the content basis and the grade. Once a buyer fixes whether collagen is declared on a material basis or a collagen basis, and whether the grade is native or hydrolyzed, the remaining lines on the certificate become comparable between suppliers.
-
How to request documents and samples
Certificates of analysis, technical data sheets and samples for the chicken sternum type II collagen powder range can be requested through the inquiry form, or through the contact page. Buyers assembling a wider range of supplement inputs can start from the supplement ingredients selection.
Sources
- US Food and Drug Administration. Food Allergies. https://www.fda.gov/food/food-labeling-nutrition/food-allergies
- US Food and Drug Administration. 21 CFR 101.93 - Certain types of statements for dietary supplements. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations. https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/part-101/section-101.93
- European Union. Regulation (EC) No 1924/2006 on nutrition and health claims made on foods. OJ L 404, 30.12.2006, p. 9. https://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/HTML/?uri=CELEX:32006R1924
- European Union. Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012 establishing a list of permitted health claims made on foods. https://www.legislation.gov.uk/eur/2012/432
- European Union. Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011, Annex II - Substances or products causing allergies or intolerances. https://www.legislation.gov.uk/eur/2011/1169/annex/II
- Therapeutic Goods Administration, Australia. Compositional guideline: Chicken sternum cartilage powder. https://www.tga.gov.au/resources/resources/compositional-guidelines/chicken-sternum-cartilage-powder
- Consumer Affairs Agency, Japan. Foods with Function Claims. https://www.caa.go.jp/policies/policy/food_labeling/foods_with_function_claims




